Do plant apps work? They sure do! Check this one out

Remo Singh
2 min readMay 27, 2022

I absolutely love plants. There is nothing more satisfying than seeing a plant sprout a new leaf, and then seeing its journey to full size. The only thing that beats that is when you plant a random seed from a supermarket purchase and it ends up growing into a full-fledged tree.

The latter has actually happened…..an avocado tree!

An avocado tree I grew from the seed of an avocado bought at a supermarket
An avocado tree I grew from the seed of an avocado bought at a supermarket

House plants have been a part of my life for many years now….close to 8. During that time, I have also moved a lot. And by a lot I mean…..4 times. So every two years approximately.

I always wished I had an app where I could save my plants and reminisce on the ones I don't have any more or see how the newest Alcosia leaf unfurls.

The Issues

I tried and tried; every app I found had one or more of the following issues:

  • Not intuitive
  • Too many features while none being polished to perfection
  • Other products took centre stage (such as paid features, marketplaces and ads)
  • Not prioritizing/showcasing my plants

This led me on a hunt which ended in disappointment. So I decided to make one myself! And it is called Plants Galore.

www.plantsgalore.app

The Features

In a nutshell, Plants Galore allows you to:

  • Add plants to an ever-growing list of plants in your house
  • You can identify the plant using the camera or if you know the plant's name you can add it using a form
  • Take as many pictures as you want
  • Add notes to remember significant milestones in your plants’ life
  • Notes can be about new leaves, diseases taking root, a repotting you did, etc. The list is endless
  • Plants Galore also allows you to organize your plants by room or location; say you go on a vacation to Hawaii and take some pictures of foliage….even that can be saved for and categorized as “Hawaii” so you can always look back and remember which you saw a particular type of plant
  • And ofcourse…..like any good community, there is a forums page as well to get answers for your most pressing plant questions!

Here is a quick introduction video as well.

See you at Plants Galore!

www.plantsgalore.app

--

--

Remo Singh

A construction expert and a plant loving coder who likes to make new things, working towards a fair and equal society. Visit me @ https://www.remosingh.ca/